The weather has been shoddy, but Edinburgh is used to it!  Here’s what I’d do to keep myself busy…

1. Museums and Art Galleries

Free fun at Edinburgh’s AMAZING museums and galleries.  Honestly, they are among the best in the world.  You need days to explore the Scottish National Museum’s historic/geographic/scientific/technology/culture/anthropology floors and the galleries (portrait, national and modern), may just about make me feel a little bit arty.

http://www.edinburgh.org/see-do/free-attractions/museums

2. Arts and Crafts!

I’m not known for my arty crafty side but this is a great idea for rainy days.  Teapot painting in Marchmont or Edinburgh Knit Nights.  I’ve toyed with the idea of joining art classes and such but never been able to commit.  For now I’ll stick to the one off events which invariably include a piece of cake or a glass of wine!

3. Sporty fun

I know, it sounds like an oxymoron, but there do exist some sporty activities that toe the line on fun.  From the old favourities, swimming, horse riding and yoga, to some I’m yet to try:

4. Find some music

Although Edinburgh is no Glasgow on the music front, there are some great little spots for a bit of live music.

Try:

Photo: http://lance-bebopspokenhere.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/jazz-bar-quartet-jazz-bar-edinburgh.html

5. Cosy pub for a pint

Pubs were made for rainy days! Find one with an open fire and a Scrabble board, and you’re set for the day!  My favourities:

Photo: http://www.flickr.com/photos/99611356@N00/6481465415/

 

 

About greenteabug

Putting the things around me in order. Sensory overload! So much to see and do in this beautiful city, Edinburgh, this blog helps to document and share what makes me tick.

Leave a Reply

