I must admit, I was pretty shocked by how taken I was by bird watching/spotting while on holiday in the North East of Scotland recently.  It requires two things I’m not well known for; patience and good eye sight (or a good pair of binoculars).  Anyway, since I’ve been back I’ve been wondering a lot about how the Ospreys at Abernethy are getting on sitting on their nest waiting for their first egg to hatch,  humming the Famous Grouse tune or actually noticing birdsong.  I still don’t have a clue about what’s what in the bird world, but I recently identified my first bird using the RSPB bird guide which gives newbies like me a questionnaire of what we saw, and by process of elimination, identifies your find –

Unfortunately my recent find, down along the Water of Leith, was the highly common and widespread Mistle Thrush – oh well, it’s a start.

To make the most of my new hobby I thought it would be best to join the RSPB (for only £3 a month!) in the hope that they can impart some of their knowledge and help me identify something other than a common garden bird.

Binoculars now added to the wishlist!

About greenteabug

Putting the things around me in order. Sensory overload! So much to see and do in this beautiful city, Edinburgh, this blog helps to document and share what makes me tick.

Leave a Reply

