Yaaaaaaawn, stretch, snooooooooooooze… I have awoken from my winter/spring hiatus and the flowers are in full bloom!  Spring has sprung, we’ve survived Easter and now we just have the long lazy summer to look forward to.  I’ve been missing my regular posts, mostly the catharsis and the opportunity to blab, but the break has helped me to compile fresh ideas, and explore new ventures.

First on the list is Broughton Deli

What a fantastic wee shop.  Simple decor, wholesome ingredients, and above all, food prepared the way I would if I weren’t so lazy.  The only down side is the price, not cheap, but you pay for the produce.

S and I arrived for what we would consider brunch o’clock, but most normal people would consider lunch, 1pm.  Luckily the deli caters for those lazybones and brunch is served until 3pm everyday, perfect!  Not a fry up kind of girl, and bored of my usual poached eggs Benedict etc, I was delighted to see the quintessentially continental breakfast brunch platter, seeded brown bread, a cheese of your choice (comte obvs), proper ham, a boiled egg, butter and jam.  Washed down with an OJ and a green tea and I couldn’t be a happier chappy.

I couldn’t find a picture of my food, but it truly was a beautiful plate of food, served up on a nice wooden board.

I’ll definitely be returning, but I’ll have to save my pennies!

About greenteabug

Putting the things around me in order. Sensory overload! So much to see and do in this beautiful city, Edinburgh, this blog helps to document and share what makes me tick.

Leave a Reply

