New discovery! A lovely wee tea shop on Leven Street.  All loose leaf teas and delicate glass teapots…perfect!

I popped in on my way back from a less than satisfactory haircut, looking like a drowned rat and in need of a good cup of loose leaf tea.  The shop is tiny, with shelves and shelves of boxed and packaged teas, my equivalent of a childhood sweetshop.  There are only a couple of seats, (NB. as I discovered, no hidden corners for smuggling your multipack Heat/OK/Now magazines), perfect for watching the world go by and eavesdropping on the owners impart their knowledge on tea-keen customers.

I opted for Pai Mu Dan, a delicate Chinese white tea, and a slice of carrot cake.  Apparently, according to a previous review, cake is a bit gauche in the world of tea houses but due to aforementioned haircut, it was a necessity.  I’ll have my cake and eat it.   The owner was happy to refill my pot with hot water and I got the impression he’d be only to happy to talk you through the dozens of teas on the menu.  This is obviously a passionate venture as well as an apparently lucrative project.

It looks like Edinburgh really is coming around to tea.  My 2012 tea education is well underway!

About greenteabug

Putting the things around me in order. Sensory overload! So much to see and do in this beautiful city, Edinburgh, this blog helps to document and share what makes me tick.

Leave a Reply

