Thank goodness for all of those reporters who have reached enlightment! You can barely open a newspaper supplement without being advised on achieving happiness. “10 steps to a Happier You”, “How Happy Are You? – Take Our Quiz”, “5 Lifestyle Changes is All it Takes for Happiness”.  And here I was thinking I’d always be miserable, phew!  And blimey, one particular article quoted a man who had read over 50 books on happiness. 50 BOOKS! He must be the happiest man on the planet!

I have always been aware that the self help aisles in bookshops have made big bucks but I now see the trend slipping over into the mainstream.  January is always a fruitful time to exploit the miserable but I didn’t expect it from some of my favourite newspapers and columnists.

Now I’m all for positive thinking and encouraging proactive behaviour but these articles seem to be promoting a mindset that shuns any self wallowing.  I thought that’s what January was for?  Locking yourself in your bedroom under 3 duvets watching repeats of Scrubs waiting for the sun to reappear after 4 months?  After all, when the sun does rise again, and the weather heats up, that’s when we’re all expected to be much cheerier and sociable – personally I’d take the time out now while I can.

Ok enough of my cynicism.  Do whatever it takes you to get through the last winter months but if the 10 steps to happiness fail you, I’ll be waiting with a bottle of wine and a bar of chocolate.

About greenteabug

Putting the things around me in order. Sensory overload! So much to see and do in this beautiful city, Edinburgh, this blog helps to document and share what makes me tick.

Leave a Reply

