I did it! I got back on a horse for the first time in… a long time, 5 years maybe.  I booked myself in for a half hour lesson at Tower Farm stables and then realised I have NO riding equipment.  One failed pair of riding boots later (my calves are too fat) I decided on my lovely leather ankle boots (woops), a pair of leggings and one of SH’s jumpers (woops).  Arriving at the yard I was hit by the smell – the smell of being dropped off at the riding school as a child with a packed lunch, prepared for a day of pooh-picking and riding.  Beautiful horsey smell that only horsey people can appreciate.  My trusty steed for the day was Rupert.  A solid skewbald cob who gave me a bored, disdainful look and kept sighing as if I was completely wasting his time.

A half hour later, stiff, exhausted and red faced I realised I have a lot to do before I can a) be fit enough to ride properly again b) locate my lost skills of coordination.  But nonetheless I learnt that I can still ride! Hurrah! Another lesson booked for next week 🙂

About greenteabug

Putting the things around me in order. Sensory overload! So much to see and do in this beautiful city, Edinburgh, this blog helps to document and share what makes me tick.

Leave a Reply

