No. more. bloody. foam.

I love food, and I love trying new flavours and textures but I’m afraid I simply cannot get my head around foams, jus and skid mark swipes across my plate.  Granted I ordered a crab cappuccino starter, so I couldn’t really complain about a bowl full of foam there (accompanied by delicious croutons and Parmesan shavings) but I was disappointed that my beautiful main of sauteed John Dory with leeks and mussels was entirely concealed by a great big bubble bath of white Sauternes foam.  SH avoided the foam debacle with simple, tasty and cleanly presented razor clam salad starter and a stunning barrel fillet steak served blue – truly melt in the mouth deliciousness.  Dessert was just about manageable (I was pretty full after gorging on foam all evening).  My chocolate brownie with pistachio ice cream was rich and the perfect combination of hot and cold dissolving on my tongue.  Although as mentioned earlier, it was perched precariously close to a long, ugly brown skid mark of a sweep down the side of the plate.  Unnecessary.

Nom nom nom.  Snoozy work.

 

The service was flawless, the atmosphere rowdy, the decor comfortable and discreet.   It is an absolutely stunning experience and cost wise, very reasonable.  Next time I’ll request a table away from the obnoxiously loud French party, and choose dishes that can’t be fluffed about too much – steak it is!  Big thanks to the wonderful staff and the chatty restaurant manager who made the evening much more personal.

About greenteabug

Putting the things around me in order. Sensory overload! So much to see and do in this beautiful city, Edinburgh, this blog helps to document and share what makes me tick.

One response »

  1. Hanna says:

    SH looks great as not-so-blind.

Leave a Reply

